

About ISDEIV

The International Symposium on Discharge and Electrical Insulation in Vacuum (ISDEIV) is a non-profit, international organization whose purpose is to encourage the advancement of the science and application of electrical insulation and discharges in vacuum, primarily by conducting symposia for the exchange of scientific information.

The Symposia are usually held biennially. The symposia are interdisciplinary meetings for the exchange of results, presentation of progress, and discussion of ideas and challenges for the future in the field of electrical discharges and insulation in vacuum. Both fundamental and applied aspects are covered. Symposia programs consist of invited talks, invited oral contributions, and posters. Minicourses and informal discussions on relevant topics may also be offered in addition to the regular Symposium schedule.

Main Topics

A: BREAKDOWN AND FLASHOVER

- A1. Vacuum breakdown and pre-breakdown phenomena
- A2. Surface discharges and flashover phenomena

B: VACUUM ARCS

- B1. Switching in vacuum and related phenomena
- B2. Interaction of vacuum arcs with magnetic fields
- B3. Vacuum arc physics
- B4. Computer modeling and computer aided design
- B5. Pulsed power physics and technology

C: APPLICATIONS

- C1. Vacuum interrupters and their applications
- C2. Surface science and modification and related technologies
- C3. Electron, ion, neutron, X-ray and other beam and light sources
- C4. Accelerator and fusion reactor related issues
- C5. Space related technologies
- C6. Vacuum microelectronics and their applications

D: OTHERS

City Information

The only prefecture in Japan within a subtropical region is Okinawa, which has been fostering its own culture as an independent kingdom. Domestic flights to Okinawa are frequently operated from Japanese hub-airports including Haneda, Kansai and Chubu. The domestic flight time is 2-3 hours. Many international flights are also available from Asian countries such as South Korea, China and Singapore. Explore the ruins, vast sea blue and rain-forest green nurtured in the long history of Okinawa. The sight of the magnificence gives you a feeling of the eternal flow of time.

Venue

Okinawa Jichikaikan: 15 mins by monorail from Naha Airport

Address: 116-37, Asahimachi, Naha, Okinawa 900-0029, Japan Tel: +81-98-862-8181





Important dates

- Deadline for abstract submission : September 15, 2022 - Notification of abstract acceptance : December 15, 2022

- Deadline for full paper submission : March 15, 2023

- Notification of full paper acceptance : April 24, 2023

- Conference : June 25 - 30, 2023

Contact us

Shenli JIA

: isdeiv2023@epower.ees.saitama-u.ac.jp E-mail Website: http://isdeiv2023.w3.kanazawa-u.ac.jp

Permanent International Scientific Committee - PISC

P.R. China, (Chair)

Alexander BATRAKOV	Russia, (Vice Chair)	Sandeep KULKARNI	India
Michael KURRAT	Germany, (Secretary)	Akiko KUMADA	Japan
Matthew M. HOPKINS	USA, (Treasurer)	H. Craig MILLER	USA
René P.P. SMEETS	Netherlands (Awards Comm. Chair)	Antonio De LORENZI	Italy
Raymond L. BOXMAN	Israel	Sergej SHKOL'NIK	Russia
Edgar DULLNI	Germany	Dirk UHRLANDT	Germany
Leslie T. FALKINGHAM	United Kingdom	Satoru YANABU	Japan (P.R. China)
André ANDERS	USA	Jiyan ZOU	P.R. China

Eiji KANEKO

Japan

Local Organizing Committee - LOC

E. Kaneko, Chair (U	University of the Ryukyus)	Y. Tanaka (Kanazawa University)
E. Hamono, Chan (C	in tersity of the rejunity as,	1. Tuliulu (Tuliuzuwa e ili versity)

A. Kumada, Vice Chair (The University of Tokyo) Y. Nakano (Kanazawa University)

Y. Yamano, Secretary (Saitama University) H. Iwabuchi (Shonan Institute of Technology)

H. Kojima, Editor of Proceedings (Nagoya University) Y. Niwa (Toshiba Corporation)

S. Harada (University of the Ryukyus) N. Asari (Toshiba Corporation)

S. Yanabu (Xi'an Jaotong University) H. Urai (Daido University)

S. Kobayashi (Saitama University) H. Morita (Hitachi, Ltd.)

H.Torii (Fuji Electric CO., LTD.) S. Kajita (Nagoya University)

T. Donen (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation) T. Iwao (Tokyo City University)

Y. Inada (Saitama University) H. Fukuda (MEIDENSHA CORPORATION)

K. Toyoda (Kyusyu Institute of Technology) T. Abe (KEK)

H. Akatsuka (Tokyo Institute of Techonology) K. Nitta (JAXA) A. Kojima (QST) M. Sasaki (University of Tsukuba)

K. Murakami (AIST) T. Fujino (University of Tsukuba)